The Hammer Of Coding

I recently began a new adventure, or perhaps it is an old adventure being revisited. After all, we like revisiting things, don’t we? (For any proof you might need of this, look how many times the story or Batman has been retold.)

The adventure of coding for me is something of an enjoyable headache. The very thought of staring at a screen for hours while doing the equivalent of high school algebra fills me with a certain amount of dread, while at the same time the idea of an unsolved problem irritates me greatly. When I’ve solved the problem, a feeling of elation strikes me with the power of a ten pound sledge hammer. The following problem leaves me with a similarly powerful headache.

Why do I keep doing this to myself? Is there something I’m gaining? Or do I simply enjoy smashing myself In the face with hammers?

20131109-055046.jpg

Leave a Reply

